Can you hear the earth breathing?

breathing earthHave you ever thought the earth as an organism that not only reacts to the human intervention but also breathes? What you would say if you could see those breaths? Now you can! Thanks to  the tremendous folks of the NASA Visible Earth team and John Nelson.

John Nelson downloaded the twelve cloud-free satellite imagery mosaics of Earth (“Blue Marble Next Generation”) at each month of the year.  He wrapped them into some projections then stitched them together into a couple animated gifs and this was the result. 

Animated

imageedit_1_6834543030
Click on the images for better results.
Nelson, who lives in Michigan,offers this explanation for why such a simple glimpse of our planet can be so powerful:
 
“Having spent much of my life living near the center of that mitten-shaped peninsula in North America, I have had a consistent seasonal metronome through which I track the years of my life. When I stitch together what can be an impersonal snapshot of an entire planet, all of the sudden I see a thing with a heartbeat. I can track one location throughout a year to compare the annual push and pull of snow and plant life there, while in my periphery I see the oscillating wave of life advancing and retreating, advancing and retreating. And I’m reassured by it.”

John Nelson I would like to thank you for this astonishing gif!You can visit his blog and read more about this project. 

And remember…keep our planet breathing, keep earth ALIVE. 

Leave a Reply

