New phase of the Global Climate Change Alliance


A new phase of the Global Climate Change Alliance was launched today: Global Climate Change Alliance+ (GCCA+) is set to become one of Europe’s key tools to assist the world’s most vulnerable developing countries in addressing global climate change. But what is the GCCA?

The GCCA was established by the European Union (EU) in 2007 to strengthen dialogue and cooperation with developing countries, in particular least developed countries (LDCs) and small island developing States (SIDS).

It started its work in just four pilot countries. Today it has a budget of more than €300 million and is one of the most significant climate initiatives in the world. It supports 51 programmes around the world and is active in 38 countries, 8 regions and subregions and at the global level.

By fostering effective dialogue and cooperation on climate change, the Alliance helps to ensure that poor developing countries most vulnerable to climate change increase their capacities to adapt to the effects of climate change, in support of the achievement of the Millenium Development Goals (MDGs).

Where this benefits their poverty reduction objectives, the Alliance also helps such countries to participate in the global climate change mitigation effort.

In 2014, a new phase of the GCCA, the GCCA+ flagship initiative, began in line with the European Commission’s new Multiannual Financial Framework (2014-2020).

The GCCA+ aim is to boost the efficiency of its response to the needs of vulnerable countries and groups. Using ambitious and innovative approaches, it will achieve its goals by building on its two mutually reinforcing pillars:

  • Under the first pillar, the GCCA+ serves as a platform for dialogue and exchange of experience between the EU and developing countries, focusing on climate policy and bringing renewed attention to the issue of international climate finance. The results feed into negotiations for a new climate deal under the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC).
  • Under the second pillar, the GCCA+ acts as a source of technical and financial support for the world’s most climate-vulnerable countries, whose populations need climate finance the most. Extra efforts will be made to strengthen the strategically important issues of ecosystems-based adaptation, migration and gender equality.

The GCCA+ focuses its technical support on three priority areas:

Climate change is pervasive: it affects, and is affected by, all spheres of public life and is closely linked to poverty. This is why climate must be an integral consideration in national development plans, policies and budgets. Two processes intended to facilitate climate mainstreaming will be presented at the UNFCCC COP 21: Intended Nationally Determined Contributions (INDCs) processes that include National Adaptation Planning (NAP). GCCA+ will channel support to partner countries for preparation and implementation of national adaptation strategies and to help them meet their INDC obligations.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s